St. Francis de Sales Parish was established in 1860. It was originally named St. Wilfrid's, but the name was changed upon the opening of the new church in 1871. It was reduced to a Mission Parish of the local churches in 1914 and was resurrected as a full-fledged parish with a resident pastor in 1942.
In 1997, upon the retirement of Fr. Bolger, who served the parish for 17 years, the longest serving pastor of the Parish, plans began for the construction of a new church.
As the community mustered the finances and devised the plans, they celebrated Mass in the gymnasium at St. Patrick's School. On Sunday, July 30, 2006, they worshipped for the last time at St. Patrick's and celebrated the dedication of the new Church that same afternoon. On Sunday, July 30, 2006, the new St. Francis de Sales Parish was dedicated by Cardinal Aloysius Ambrozic, Archbishop of Toronto.
From the humble origins as a country parish, St. Francis de Sales has grown to include 6 elementary schools, one high school, thousands of families, and many ministries that indicate that the Parish is alive and thriving.
In 1996, as the Parish celebrated the 125th Anniversary of the old Church, Bishop Knight began the year long festivities by reflecting on the diverse mix of our Parish and pronounced it as a stellar expression of the Universal Catholic Church, present in each and every one of our celebrations.
We certainly are a blest community of faith, unique and privileged as a Church in Ajax. As we celebrate more than 150 years as a Parish, may we continue to flourish and grow as the living presence of God's kingdom, so all who worship with us may know that Christ dwells here.
"Perfection of life is the perfection of love. For love is the life of the soul."
St. Francis de Sales